Back In The Card Game

will_clark_1987_toppsSo what is Back In The Card Game?   After many years of being out of the baseball card collecting game, I am back!  I can remember buying my first pack of baseball cards back in 1983.  Back then there was three main companies – Topps, Fleer and Donruss.  It pretty much stayed that way until Score showed up in 1988 and Upper Deck in 1989.  From 1987 to around 1991 was my heyday in the card collecting game and I pretty much had every card that came out.  I collected a lot of differant players but my favorite was San Francisco Giants 1st baseman, Will Clark.  I had a binders and boxes full of cards!  Shortly after 1991, I got out of the game.  It seemed that card collecting was becoming too much of a business for grown men and less of a hobby for kids and in my opinion there were too many companies producing sets and the price of cards was getting out of hand.  Over the years I may have bought a pack or two of football cards here and there but cannot remember buying anything related to baseball.  So why did I get back in the game?  I was walking by the card section in Wal-Mart and saw the 2013 Topps Series 1 packs with Prince Fielder on the packs and thought why not, and grabbed a pack.  I was really impressed with the 2013 Topps card design and the look so I decided to buy a few more packs.  Those packs turned into a couple of Jumbo Packs, which then turned into a couple of Blaster Boxes and I was hooked.  So I am back in the game.  I am concentrating on finishing the base set of the 2013 Topps Series 1 and then will start branching out to other series like Topps Heritage and pulling my old cards out of storage to see what I have still!

Additionally, from time-to-time I will post some stuff about whats happening on the field in baseball.  So enjoy and thanks for visiting!

  1. #1 by JT on April 18, 2013 - 6:44 am

    Welcome back to the hobby. Your journey sounds similar to mine…I collected heavily from 1985 to 1991, then again in 1999 and 2000, and then didn’t really do much with cards again until 2008. Since then I have focused my collection, not trying to get every single card that comes out anymore. It’s just too big to do that these days.

    Good luck on your collection!

    • #2 by Jason Culley on April 18, 2013 - 7:20 pm

      Thanks JT. The hobby has definitely changed. My goal is to have fun and collect certain players, a few sets here and there but mainly have fun and hopefully get my kids interested.

      • #3 by JT on April 18, 2013 - 7:33 pm

        Good luck with the kids. Mine are too obsessed with Minecraft and Pokemon to care much about baseball cards. At least they enjoy going to see the games.

  2. #4 by Jason Culley on April 18, 2013 - 10:20 pm

    I gave my middle son some of my 2013 Topps Series 1 doubles and I think I might have him hooked. He plays Little League baseball on the Braves so that is his favorite team so we are gonna build a Braves team set together. He alo loves Minecraft and Pokemon also!

Leave a Reply

