Will “The Thrill” Clark

1986_donruss_highlights_1_will_clarkGrowing up in Southern California I should have been a Los Angeles Dodgers fan or a California Angels fan and my favorite players should have come from those teams.  Now I can still remember watching alot of Dodgers games with my grandparents, players such as Steve Garvey, Steve Sax, Davey Lopes, Ron Cey, Mike Scioscia, Pedro Guerrero and Ken Landreaux just to name a few but as a young pre-teen I started to follow the San Francisco Giants and in particular a player named Will Clark.  So as a young card collector it was only natural I would try and collect as many cards of my favorite player as I could.  Somewhere from the time I stopped collecting and now, many of the cards I had back then are no longer in my collection, only a few remain.  Here comes the fun part, I get to acquire them all over again just like when I was kid!

One of his first cards was from the 1986 Donruss Highlights Set (#1) which highlighted his first at bat with the San Francisco Giants –

The San Francisco Giants had high expectations for Will Clark when the 1986 season began.  They had , after all, selected the strapping 6-1, 185-pound lefty-hitting first baseman No. 1 in the June ’85 free agent draft.  Clark, an All America selection at Mississippi St. where he hit .420 with 25 homers and 77 RBI in 65 games in ’85, spent just 65 games with the Giants’ Class A Fresno farm before convincing the brass he was ready for the big time.  After a productive training in which he hit .297 with 5 homers and 16 RBI in 20 games, Clark was in the Giants’ opening day lineup against the Houston Astros, April 8.  On his first at-bat against Houston’s legendary fireballer Nolan Ryan, Clark hit a home run and the Giants went on to win 8-3.  Clark thus became only the 53rd player in history to hit a homer in his first big league at bat.


So one of my goals for 2013 is to acquire as many Will Clark baseball cards as I can and build my collection up again.  If you have this card and are interested in selling or trading it please contact me at jlculley@gmail.com.  The checklist of what I have and what I need will be posted soon!

,

    • #2 by Jason Culley on April 19, 2013 - 1:05 am

      Shoeboxlegends . . . thanks for posting! Once I get my singles and doubles sorted out we can definately make some trades!

  1. #3 by JT on April 18, 2013 - 7:35 pm

    Are you familiar with this website?

    http://www.thrill22.com/

    It might help you build your checklists and possibly identify cards that you are not familiar with.

    • #4 by Jason Culley on April 18, 2013 - 10:19 pm

      JT I saw that site awhile ago but forgot about it. Thanks for the link!!!

  2. #5 by Jason Culley on June 2, 2013 - 9:17 am

    JT,

    I noticed the thrill22.com site is down and has been for a few weeks? Any idea of what happened?

    Jason

    • #6 by JT on June 5, 2013 - 1:58 pm

      No clue. That’s a shame. 😦

Leave a Reply

