What A Weekend?!?!

I had a weekend free for the first time in weeks and had so much I wanted to get done around the house and in the garage.  Well it seems my body had other plans and was violently ill starting Friday night and it lasted until pretty much today as it was the first day I have been able to get around and do stuff.  My San Francisco Giants had an equally bad weekend, getting swept by division rivals, San Diego Padres.  We did sweep the Padres the weekend before so I guess they paid us back though!

brandon_belt_april_29_2013So onto Arizona and the Diamondbacks to try to end a 5-game losing streak.  Bruce Bochy made the decision to move First Baseman Brandon Belt down to 8th in the batting which was either a stroke of genius or just plain lucky, I prefer to think genius!  All Belt did was go 2 for 4 with 3 RBIs and a home run.  The home run came in the second inning and gave the Giants an early 3-0 lead.  Then in the top of the 8th with the score tied 4-4, he came to the plate with bases loaded and two outs.  With the count at 3 balls and 1 strike, he singled to center field scoring two runs and putting the Giants ahead for good.  The Giants won the game 6-4 and the losing streak was over!

In addition to writing about the cards I am collecting, acquiring, trading, finding (in my shed!) I though I would share my thoughts on how the Giants do throughout the season.  This is more for me as I enjoy writing but if even one person reads it and enjoys it just a little (or at least doesn’t hate it) then I am happy!

  1. #1 by Marcus on April 30, 2013 - 11:32 pm

    I (obviously) like writing about baseball cards, but I find that when the season is in full swing (and especially when the Padres are doing well – like sweeping the Giants), I can’t help but mention it here and there on the blog. Some bloggers write STRICTLY about cards, but I don’t know how they do it. Even though I’m not a Giants fan, I like reading about how other’s feel about their teams.

    • #2 by Jason Culley on April 30, 2013 - 11:51 pm

      Thanks Marcus. I am sure you enjoyed that Padres sweep!

Leave a Reply

