Collecting The Set – 2013 Topps Opening Day (UPDATE)

2013_topps_opening_day_jumbo_packsSo the wife asks if I can go to Wal-Mart to pick up some stuff she forget when she was grocery shopping . . . reluctantly I agreed.  🙂  It has been a little while since I bought any packs of cards and they had some packs of 2013 Topps Opening Day near the register so I added a few to my cart.  I was still about 20% from completing the base set so I figured if I bought two Jumbo Packs I should be able to score a few I needed and have a little fun opening some packs.

I ended up pulling about 1/4 of the base set cards I needed and a few inserts I needed as well.

Here are some of my highlights –

2013_topps_opening_day_73_ryan_vogelsong
Always good to find a San Francisco Giant I need, Ryan Vogelsong (#73).

Some RC’s I was missing –

2013_topps_opening_day_72_shelby_miller_rc
Shelby Miller (#72) is currently 5-2 with a 1.58 ERA (5th best in MLB) in 7 starts.

2013_topps_opening_day_114_mike_olt_rc

Mike Olt (#114), I believe is down in the minor leagues right now.
2013_topps_opening_day_172_manny_machado_rc
Manny Macahdo (#172) is currently batting .329 with 5 HRs and 24 RBIs in 39 games for the Orioles.

I am always excited to pull a Topps All-Star Rookie, especially one I need –

2013_topps_opening_day_80_anthony_rizzo_topps_all_star_rookie
Anthony Rizzo (#80) is currently batting .270 with 9 HRs and 28 RBIs for the Cubs.

A few more of my highlights –

2013_topps_opening_day_120_alex_rodriguez
When is Alex Rodriguez going to play?  He currently has 647 career HRs, which puts him 115 behind Barry Bonds’ all-time record of 762.  If I did my math correct using his average of 1 HR every 3.9 games in his career it would take him another 448.5 games to tie the record.  He turns 38 in July, which means when healthy and playing he needs to play into his 40’s (about 2 3/4 more seasons) to have a chance.

2013_topps_opening_day_130_chase_headley
Chase Headley (#130) wearing a throwback Padres jersey from 1978.

2013_topps_opening_day_bf1_dustin_pedroia
Dustin Pedroia (#BF-1) Ballpark Fun insert.

2013_topps_opening_day_m12_baltimore_orioles
Baltimore Orioles (#M-12) Mascot insert.

2013_topps_opening_day_ph23_hanley_ramirez
Hanley Ramirez (#PH-23) Play Hard insert.

Here are my current 2013 Topps Series 1 and Opening Day needs.  I have acquired quite a few doubles also so if you are looking for some to complete a base set or team set you can email me at jlculley@gmail.com.

Thanks for checking out my blog and I love to read comments if you have any related to this post or anything else!  Have a great day!

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

